November 16, 2014

The Halcyon Bird Tour: Interview + Giveaway

Welcome to my stop on the blog tour for The Halcyon Bird by Kat Beyer! Today I have an interview with the author to share with you - and don't forget to enter to win a signed copy of the book! To follow the rest of the tour, click on the banner above.

The Halcyon Bird (Demon Catchers of Milan #2)
Author: Kat Beyer
Genre: YA Urban Fantasy/Paranormal
Release Date: November 11, 2014
Publisher: EgmontUSA


For fans of Lauren Kate and Cassandra Clare, a romance with a paranormal streak.

Mia has settled into her life with the Della Torres -- Milan's premier demon-catching family, accompanying them to exorcisms and even learning some way to be useful in the family trade. Then Bernardo comes into her life, handsome, well-mannered, someone who makes her forget her impossible crush on Emilio, her cousin. But always lurking in the background is the demon who possessed Mia once before, and who has not given up on possessing her again--this time for good.

*"Mia has a strong gift for the family trade, which, like the novel's other elements...are portrayed in exquisite, affectionate detail. This one goes to the head of the class." - Kirkus, starred review

"Sets the stage for a thrilling sequel. By the book's close, Mia is armed and ready--she whispers to the demon lurking beyond, 'You'll have to wait. But I'm coming. Believe me, I'm coming.' Readers will be ready, too." - Booklist

"A supernatural novel with a fresh promise, worthy of note." - School Library Journal
1. What inspired you/gave you the idea for The Demon Catchers of Milan series?

The original inspiration was an actual candle shop, called Candele Mum, in the via Fiori Chiari in Milan. I walked past it one winter’s evening with a friend. It’s a little cobbled street, and the shop front is tiny. In the failing light the candle flames flickering in the windows caught my eye. That image stayed with me, as I gathered, consciously and unconsciously, more and more impressions of Milan and of Italy.

2. What sort of research did you have to do for the books? 

All kinds. I had to read about possession and exorcism, the history of Italy, the history of Milan, the modern life of Milanese. I had to walk the streets, take photos, eat…poor me! I listened to Italian radio online and read the Corriere della Serra. All that and I still made some pretty basic mistakes; thank heavens for our incredible copyeditor.

3. Favorite Book? 

I can’t choose a single one. It’s just completely impossible. The first one that came to mind was The Other Wind by Ursula Le Guin, but there are so many others, and that’s not even the one that I’ve reread the most—that prize probably goes to Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.

4. Any advice for aspiring writers? 

Don’t think about writing, don’t read a bunch of books or take a bunch of classes. Just write. Do all that other stuff, maybe, if you’ve got the time when you’re not writing or having the life you long for. Definitely read the writers you think are truly great, because you’ll learn a lot from them. Talk to friends and colleagues about craft, develop a cheering squad, for sure. And if the writers you think are truly great write about writing, read that stuff. But mainly, first, last, always: write. You will only learn this by doing it.

5. What's up next for you? 

I am currently working on the third book in the Demon Catchers series. After that…I’ve presented five projects to my agent, and she likes all of them. There’s one that’s starting to glow in my mind a bit more than the others, and that friends ask about more—I published a flash fiction series that would be the basis of the novel.
Kat Beyer has an M.A. in medieval history and has loved all things Italian for as long as she can remember. Her first novel was The Demon Catchers of Milan. She lives with her daughter in Madison, Wisconsin. Visit her online at

Giveaway: (1) SIGNED copy of The Halcyon Bird - Open to US/CAN only!! (A huge thanks to EgmontUSA for sponsoring the giveaway!)


No comments:

Post a Comment