August 8, 2018

Star-Touched Stories Blog Tour: Review




Star-Touched Stories (The Star-Touched Queen #2.5)
Author: Roshani Chokshi
Genre: YA Fantasy
Release Date: August 7, 2018
Publisher: St. Martin's Press

Description:

Three lush and adventurous stories in the Star-Touched world.

Death and Night

He was Lord of Death, cursed never to love. She was Night incarnate, destined to stay alone. After a chance meeting, they wonder if, perhaps, they could be meant for more. But danger crouches in their paths, and the choices they make will set them on a journey that will span lifetimes.

Poison and Gold

Now that her wish for a choice has come true, Aasha struggles to control her powers. But when an opportunity to help Queen Gauri and King Vikram's new reign presents itself, she is thrown into the path of the fearsome yet enchanting Spy Mistress. To help her friends, Aasha will have to battle her insecurities and perhaps, along the way, find love.

Rose and Sword

There is a tale whispered in the dark of the Empire of Bharat-Jain. A tale of a bride who loses her bridegroom on the eve of her wedding. But is it a tale or a truth?
  


Praise:

"Deftly woven with fantastical elements and Indian mythology, the tales reflect and materialize the characters' internal struggles...Aasha's and Gauri's stories explore complex themes of identity, ambition, love, and loss. Chokshi marries sensuous storytelling with kick-ass protagonists in these feminist romances."—Kirkus Reviews
 

"Chokshi is in top form with the lush world-building and vivid language fans of the series have come to love. Each novella focuses on an ambitious heroine as she confronts not just her fears but her desires. A must-read for fans of the series and a charming introduction to the author and her works."—School Library Journal

"Whether read as a whole or in individual stories, this is a sure success that will leave any reader craving more of the fascinating and beguiling prose."—Booklist

“Lush and ornate ribbons of language... rich and dizzying.”—The New York Times Book Review on The Star-Touched Queen

"The sentence-level beauty of this book often stunned me: There's a smooth, understated loveliness to the writing that kept catching me off guard. In Chokshi's prose, voices have substance and texture while light has color and flavor; never have I wanted to munch on books so much as after reading...Solidly crafted and very engaging, this is a smooth, lovely and assured debut.”—NPR.org on The Star-Touched Queen  


Praise for A Crown of Wishes:
Named “One of the Most Anticipated YA Novels of 2017” by

  • Entertainment Weekly
  • Teen Vogue
  • Bustle
  • BookRiot
  • B&N Teen Blog
“Careful plotting, multiple viewpoints, high-stakes action, and a slow-burn relationship make this heady fantasy completely engrossing. A first pick for YA collections.”—School Library Journal, STARRED review
"Chokshi’s debut, The Star-Touched Queen (2016), was lush and gorgeously written, and Chokshi has only improved; this lovely companion tale boasts a stronger narrative structure in addition to the delightful prose.”—Booklist
“With a happily-ever-after reminiscent of beloved fairy tales, this is a great pick for voracious readers who like their bejeweled princesses to have hard edges.”—Kirkus Reviews
“Set against this vivid backdrop is a story with two skill- fully drawn protagonists...this gem will likely send those new to Alaka back to the companion story as its fans wait for another invitation to Chokshi’s luminous world."— The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“It's gorgeously written and exceptionally intriguing, and Chokshi's lush world is one you won't want to leave.”—Buzzfeed “Top 18 Books to Read this Spring”
“The tale is spellbinding, each character is well developed and interesting, and obvi we are so happy.”—Bustle “Best YA Books of March”
“Chokshi’s latest is a magical tale told through beautiful poetic storytelling... An intricately drawn, vibrant supporting cast and cleverly inventive plot help make this story a delightful read.”—Romantic Times, 4 1⁄2 stars “Top Pick!”
 

Praise for The Star-Touched Queen:

  • New York Times Bestseller
  • #9 on the Summer 2016 Kids' Indie Next List
  • An Amazon Best Book of the Month
  • A Goodreads Best Book of the Month
“Lush and ornate ribbons of language... rich and dizzying.”—The New York Times Book Review
"The sentence-level beauty of this book often stunned me: There's a smooth, understated loveliness to the writing that kept catching me off guard. In Chokshi's prose, voices have substance and texture while light has color and flavor; never have I wanted to munch on books so much as after reading...Solidly crafted and very engaging, this is a smooth, lovely and assured debut.”—NPR.org
“Chokshi's prose is captivating, and the pages come alive .... Maya is a strong heroine, and while there is romance, an emphasis on familial love adds another level of richness to a folkloric fantasy about sacrifice, self-discovery, and making your own destiny."—Publishers Weekly, STARRED review
“A setting drawn from ancient India, romance with feminist sensibilities, and a unique magic system reminiscent of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone make this a novel sure to appeal to fans of RenĂ©e Ahdieh’s The Wrath and the Dawn. A stunning debut filled with lush writing, smart characters, and a mysterious plot that provides as many twists as it does swoons.”—School Library Journal, STARRED review
“Chokshi's rich, descriptive writing weaves a lush web...a swoony romance, betrayal, and a journey to power and self-affirmation, with a slightly wicked, slightly funny animal sidekick in the best tradition (think Garth Nix's Mogget as a crimson-eyed horse), work together to create a spell that many readers will willingly succumb to. Richly imagined, deeply mythic, filled with lovely language with violet overtones: this is an author to watch.”—Kirkus Reviews
“This gorgeous debut promises big things to come from Chokshi, who at barely 25 has decades ahead to dazzle us.”—Cosmopolitan.com on “8 Life-Changing Novels by Twentysomething Women”
“Chokshi’s first novel is filled to the brim with gorgeous, scintillating writing that easily draws readers into its new take on traditional tales. A unique fantasy that is epic myth and beautiful fairy tale combined.”—Booklist
“The Star-Touched Queen is the YA Fantasy Must-Read of 2016” -Bustle
“A heady blend of mythology and metaphor, THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN is sure to appeal to fans of Laini Taylor and Leigh Bardugo. Maya is a great character, full of promise and patience, even as the odds are stacked against her.”—Romantic Times Book Reviews
“Magic is woven into every word of The Star-Touched Queen. Vibrantly imaginative and gracefully written, I was spellbound from the first line. A dazzling, sensuous feast of world-building, romance, and mythology.”—Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author of The Throne of Glass series
“A richly detailed world and a story filled with twists and turns, The Star-Touched Queen had me breathless right up until the final, stunning conclusion. It is a bewitching tale with a setting so vivid and unique, I wished I could step right through the pages.” —Amy Ewing, New York Times bestselling author of The Jewel
“Gorgeously poetic writing gives vibrant, sensuous life to the worlds of The Star-Touched Queen. Chokshi never shies away from forcing her characters to make hard choices, and I was captivated by Princess Maya’s cleverness and determination as she struggles against fate and betrayal.”—Kate Elliot, New York Times bestselling author of the Court of Five series 


Star-Touched Stories is a collection of three short stories all set in the Star-Touched world. I'm not usually a fan of short stories in general because they never seem to have enough time to create the vital aspects I want - world building, plot, realistic characters. These stories were the complete opposite and in such wonderful ways. Somehow the author managed to create characters that I could connect within these short pages. She also told fantastic stories that had substance and an actual plot. The major thing that got me was the amazing world building that was done in each story despite their lengths. The author used incredibly detailed descriptions with lush vivid imagery that brought everything in each story to life in front of my eyes. I felt like I was right there inside this wondrous world alongside the characters as their stories were told. To me, these things are hard to find when it comes to short stories - or even some full length novels - and the fact that the author nailed all of the main aspects is amazing to me. I very highly recommend this book to fans of the author's other works as well as readers who enjoy YA fantasy, mythology, and short stories.


ROSHANI CHOKSHI is the New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen, A Crown of Wishes, and Aru Shah and the End of Time. Her work has appeared in Strange Horizons, Shimmer, and Book Smugglers. Her short story, "The Star Maiden," was longlisted for the British Fantasy Science Award.