March 23, 2015

Liars, Inc. Blog Tour: Guest Post + Giveaway
Welcome to my stop on the official blog tour for Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes! Today I'll be sharing a great guest post written by the author - and don't forget to enter the giveaway! To follow the rest of the tour, click on the banner above.

Liars, Inc.
Author: Paula Stokes
Genre: YA Mystery/Thriller
Release Date: March 24, 2015
Publisher: HarperTeen 


For fans of Gone Girl, I Hunt Killers, and TV's How to Get Away with Murder.

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit? In a story that Kirkus Reviews called "Captivating to the very end," Paula Stokes starts with one single white lie and weaves a twisted tale that will have readers guessing until the explosive final chapters.

For more information, check out THE OFFICIAL LIARS, INC. WEBSITE.

Paula: Welcome to Week 2 of the #CatchAKiller Blog Tour. The first week was background profiles on the victim and suspects. The second week is FBI subject interview transcripts. Follow along to win fun swag and test your detective skills. Nothing in the content is directly spoilery for the book, but the info presented here might get you thinking about who's lying and who's telling the truth. Can you follow the clues and sniff out a killer? Make your guess and then read LIARS, INC. to see if you’re right! 

CASE CA4153-228
LEAD INVESTIGATOR: McGhee, James, Special Agent
SECONDARY INVESTIGATOR: Gonzalez, Alex, Special Agent

Agent McGhee: Good morning, Senator. I’m sorry we’re meeting under these circumstances. Will your wife be joining us?

Senator DeWitt: Unfortunately she’s not feeling up to speaking at the moment. She suffers from anxiety and today has been particularly rough on her.

Agent McGhee: Okay then. We’ll check back later and see if she’s feeling well enough to answer a few questions. When did you last see Preston?

Senator DeWitt: I had a charity luncheon on Saturday. Pres was there until about three. Then he’d told his mother he was going camping with a friend all weekend.

Agent McGhee: And you started to worry when?

Senator DeWitt: My wife and I both retired around eleven p.m. last night. We knew Preston wasn’t home yet but he’s prone to staying out late with his friends, so it wasn’t until Claudia
woke up around five and realized his bed hadn’t been slept in that she began to worry. She tried calling and texting, but got no answer, so she tracked down the mother of the boy he was supposedly with.

Agent McGhee: Max Cantrell.

Senator DeWitt: Right. Max. Sorry. Preston runs around with so many different people. I lose track.

Agent McGhee: Is there anyone you’d say he spent more time with than his other friends?

Senator DeWitt: The Indian girl from his old school. Parvati something.

Agent McGhee: We’ll track her down. Is she his girlfriend?

Senator DeWitt: I don’t think so, but kids today. It’s hard to tell sometimes.

Agent McGhee: Do you have any idea where Preston might be? Could he have run off for some reason?

Senator DeWitt: To be honest, I never rule anything out with him. Pres can be a bit…reckless. I’ve been understandably busy the past few months. Could this all be a big stunt to make some waves, get some attention? Possibly. But given my political position, I wanted to err on the side of safety. Plus my wife insisted on involving the authorities immediately.

Agent McGhee: Do you know if Preston has been having any personal troubles? Drinking? Drugs? Anything at school or with his friends?

Senator DeWitt: I’m sure he drinks occasionally, but nothing unusual for boys his age. As far as I know, he doesn’t use drugs and if he was having trouble at school, I couldn’t tell. His grades are fine and according to my wife he had everyone over to the house after the homecoming dance a few weeks ago.

Agent Gonzalez: What about you and Preston? How’s your relationship?

Senator DeWitt: I wouldn’t say we’re close, but we see eye to eye on most things.

Agent Gonzalez: So no major fights?

Senator DeWitt: Nothing recent. It’s probably the usual amount of arguing you see between a teenage boy and his father.

Agent Gonzalez: Where were you on Saturday December 3rd?

Senator DeWitt: I was at the luncheon during the day, as I mentioned. Then there was a 
small cocktail party thrown by one of my major contributors at Troff, a restaurant in the city from about seven to nine p.m.

Agent McGhee: And what’s the name of this contributor?

Senator DeWitt: Mark Covington of Covington Construction.

Agent McGhee: And then where were you on Sunday?

Senator DeWitt: In my study at home for the most part, going over some paperwork. I watched a little football with my wife in the afternoon. She can verify my whereabouts, as can my housekeeper, Esmeralda Hernandez.

Agent McGhee: Perfect. Thank you very much, Senator. The surveillance team will stay at your house to monitor your phone lines in case Preston calls or someone else calls with a ransom demand. I’ll call you later to see if your wife is feeling well enough to give a statement.

Senator DeWitt: Thank you very much. If you’ll excuse me, I ought to go check on Claudia.


Paula Stokes writes stories about flawed characters with good hearts who sometimes make bad decisions. She’s the author of several YA novels, most recently Liars, Inc. and The Art of Lainey. Her writing has been translated into nine foreign languages. Paula loves kayaking, hiking, reading, and seeking out new adventures in faraway lands She also loves interacting with readers. Find her online at or on twitter as @pstokesbooks. 

Social Media:
You can purchase Liars, Inc. at the following Retailers:
(1) Deluxe Swag Pack. Includes (1 Black or White T-shirt, 1 Notebook, 1 Signed Postcard, 1 Magnet, 2 Signed Bookmarks, 1 Signed Bookplate, and a Mini Shark's Tooth Pendant) all wrapped in crime scene tape and packaged in an official evidence bag.

(2) Mini Swag Packs. Includes (2 Signed Bookmarks, 1 Magnet, 1 Signed Bookplate).

Giveaway is open to International. | Must be 13+ to Enter


No comments:

Post a Comment