June 29, 2017

Among the Lesser Gods Blog Tour: Review + Giveaway

Among the Lesser Gods
Author: Margo Catts
Genre: Literary Fiction
Release Date: May 9, 2017
Publisher: Arcade Publishing


For fans of authors like Barbara Kingsolver and Leif Enger, a stunning new voice in contemporary literary fiction.

“Tragedy and blessing. Leave them alone long enough, and it gets real hard to tell them apart.”

Elena Alvarez is living a cursed life. From the deadly fire she accidentally set as a child, to her mother’s abandonment, and now to an unwanted pregnancy, she knows better than most that small actions can have terrible consequences. Driven to the high mountains surrounding Leadville, Colorado by her latest bad decision, she’s intent on putting off the future. Perhaps there she can just hide in her grandmother’s isolated cabin and wait for something—anything—to make her next choice for her.

Instead, she is confronted by reflections of her own troubles wherever she turns—the recent widower and his two children adrift in a changed world, Elena’s own mysterious family history, and the interwoven lives within the town itself. Bit by bit, Elena begins to question her understanding of cause and effect, reexamining the tragedies she’s held on to and the wounds she’s refused to let heal.

But when the children go missing, Elena’s fragile new peace is shattered. It’s only at the prospect of fresh loss and blame that she will discover the truth of the terrible burdens we take upon ourselves, the way tragedy and redemption are inevitably intertwined—and how curses can sometimes lead to blessings, however disguised.  

“If Anne Tyler turned her attention to the inter-generational intrigue of small town Colorado, it might look something like Margo Catts’s arresting debut. Drenched in lyrical language and blade’s edge observation with a heartbreaking secret at its core, Among the Lesser Gods is an essential American love story for our nomadic, unrooted times.” — Carrie La Seur, author of The Home Place

“I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. Margo Catts is the perfect guide to Leadville and to life, with a sharp eye for everyday details, a pitch-perfect ear for conversation, a sympathetic heart for her characters’ travails, and a sure foot along their unpredictable paths. I’m so happy this book crossed my desk and will definitely be looking out for a second novel from Catts.” — Brigid Pasulka, author of The Sun and Other Stars

“Margo Catts’s compassionate observation of human nature shines through in her unforgettable characters, as she immerses the reader in lives that are torn by tragedy, challenged, and changed. This is a finely crafted and uplifting novel full of warmth, wisdom, and generosity of spirit.” — Judith Allnatt, author of The Silk Road

“I didn’t want the story to end, even as I was desperate to know what would happen next.” — Tiffany Quay Tyson, author of Three Rivers

“Margo Catts has a sharp eye for the intricacies of family, love, and tragedy. In luminous prose, she deftly explores the impact of the past upon our lives. This is a heartfelt book that will break your heart at times and at others fill you with joy.” — Daniel Robinson, author of After the Fire

Amazon | IndieBound | Barnes & Noble

Add to Goodreads badge
Among the Lesser Gods is a beautifully written tale of redemption and life. I was amazed that this is the author's debut novel. It showcases the author's natural storytelling and huge amount of talent right from the beginning. This is a story filled with all of the things - both good and bad - that life consists of: family, tragedy, love, loss, forgiveness, redemption, and so much more. The main character, Elena, is easy to identify with. She's a regular person with both good traits and flaws. We get to see both throughout the story, and I really enjoyed getting to know her as the book unfolds. She's dealing with a lot - both past and present - and we see her work through much of it. One thing I want to talk about it the author's writing style. This is always a huge deal for me and can easily make or break a book. The author wrote the story in the first person - from Elena's perspective. I'm a huge fan of this style because of the deep personal connection it allows between the reader and the narrator. I think it was a great fit for the novel and really lets the reader inside Elena's mind, and brings the story closer to the reader. 

Along the with universal topics, the author paints a vivid picture of life in Leadville - a small Colorado town where much of the story takes place. I liked getting to know the different people Elena encounters and learning more about both them and the town. This is a bit of a departure from my usual genres, but I'm glad that I decided to pick it up. It definitely made me pause and think about my own life when I was putting myself in Elena's shoes. Recommended for fans of general fiction, literary fiction, and women's fiction.

Margo Catts grew up in Los Angeles and has since lived in Utah, Indiana, and Colorado. After raising three children in the U.S., she and her husband moved to Saudi Arabia, where her Foreign Girl blog was well known in the expat community. Originally a freelance editor for textbooks and magazines, she has also done freelance writing for business, technical, and advertising clients, all the while working on her fiction. She is a contributing author to Once Upon an Expat. Among the Lesser Gods is her first novel. She now lives in Denver, Colorado.
 (1) Hardcover copy of AMONG THE LESSER GODS - Open to US/CAN only!

Margo Catts’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS:
Monday, June 5th: Girl Who Reads
Tuesday, June 6th: Jathan & Heather
Friday, June 9th: Books and Bindings
Monday, June 12th: A Chick Who Reads
Tuesday, June 13th: Kahakai Kitchen
Tuesday, June 13th: Books a la Mode – guest post
Wednesday, June 14th: Book by Book
Thursday, June 15th: 5 Minutes for Books
Monday, June 19th: SJ2B House of Books
Thursday, June 22nd: Patricia’s Wisdom
Friday, June 23rd: Jathan & Heather – author guest post, “Game Changer… Learn to Shift Your Perspective”
Monday, June 26th: Suzy Approved
Wednesday, June 28th: No More Grumpy Bookseller
Thursday, June 29th: A Dream Within a Dream
TBD: Literary Quicksand


  1. This sounds like a beautiful book. Adding it to my tbr list!

  2. Sounds like a lovely book. I'll have to look out for it.

  3. Stepping outside your reading comfort zone can be a risk, but I'm glad it paid of so well this time!

    Thanks for being a part of the tour!