July 18, 2018

Scream All Night Blog Tour: Review + Giveaway



SCREAM ALL NIGHT
Author: Derek Milman 
Release Date: July 24, 2018
Publisher: Balzer + Bray 
Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook 
Pages: 400 

Description:

A darkly hilarious contemporary realistic young adult novel about growing up and finding your place in the world, perfect for fans of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl and Running With Scissors. 

Dario Heyward knows one thing: He’s never going back to Moldavia Studios, the iconic castle that served as the set, studio, and home to the cast and crew of dozens of cult classic B-horror movies. It’s been three years since Dario’s even seen the place, after getting legally emancipated from his father, the infamous director of Moldavia’s creature features. 

But then Dario’s brother invites him home to a mysterious ceremony involving his father and a tribute to his first film—The Curse of the Mummy’s Tongue. Dario swears his homecoming will be a one-time visit. A way for him to get closure on his past—and reunite with Hayley, his first love and costar of Zombie Children of the Harvest Sun, a production fraught with real-life tragedy—and say good-bye for good. But the unthinkable happens—Dario gets sucked back into the twisted world of Moldavia and the horrors, both real and imagined, he’s left there. 

With only months to rescue the sinking studio and everyone who has built their lives there, Dario must confront the demons of his past—and the uncertainties of his future. But can he escape the place that’s haunted him his whole life? 

Find it:Goodreads, Amazon, Audible, B&N, iBooks, TBD
Scream All Night is an incredibly unique YA debut and one that readers are definitely going to want to pick up. I try not to read other reviews before reading a book myself because I don't want my opinions or feelings being weighed against what others have thought. And also because I don't want to risk spoilers. I will admit that I was really unsure if I wanted to read this book, so I read some reviews beforehand to see what was being said. I read nothing but amazing things, so I decided to give it a shot and to try not to have any high expectations going in. I'm very glad that I ended up reading this novel because it turned out to be something wholly unexpected for me.

If you've read any reviews about this book, it's widely described as "dark," "funny," and an homage to B-list horror films and it is all of these things. But for me, it went deeper than that. I thought it was funny in parts and had a kind of dark vibe because of the setting and the rest of the cast being a part of Moldavia - but the real heart of the story for me was basically a detailed character study of our main character, Dario. He's a realistic, complex, and layered character who has lots of stuff going on. We learn about his troubled past with his family and why he left years ago. We see all of the trauma, hurt, love, pain, fear, and hopelessness that Dario feels. The author wrote the book in the first person, from Dario's perspective, so we get that deeply personal connection that I crave. I loved getting to know Dario and his "baggage" as well as watch him struggle to decide what to do with his life, where he fits in, and when to walk away. I also enjoyed watching his relationships with the other characters - namely Hayley, but also his older brother and his father (we see how things were before he died) - unfold and grow. This is a fantastic coming of age story mixed in with a fabulous setting of a Gothic castle that doubles as a B-list horror studio and a cast of misfit actors who come to be included in this strange family. There's lots of layers to the novel and I think readers of all genres can find some part to enjoy and relate to within its pages. 
Derek Milman was born in New York City, but grew up in Westchester, NY, where he wrote and published a successful underground humor magazine that caught the attention of the New York Times, who wrote a profile on him at the age of 14.

Derek studied English, Creative Writing, and Theater at Northwestern University. He began his career as a playwright (his first play was staged in New York City when he was just out of college), and earned an MFA in acting at the Yale School of Drama.

Derek has performed on stages across the country, and appeared in numerous TV shows and films, working with two Academy Award winning film directors.

Scream All Night is Derek's debut YA novel. He currently lives in Brooklyn where he is hard at work on his next book.

 (1) winner will win a signed finished copy of SCREAM ALL NIGHT & swag - US Only!






Tour Schedule: 
Week One: 
7/16/2018- Sweet Southern Home- Excerpt 
7/16/2018- YA Books Central- Interview 
 
7/17/2018- BookHounds YA- Guest Post 
7/17/2018- Always Me- Excerpt 
 
7/18/2018- A Dream Within A Dream- Review 
7/18/2018- Wonder Struck- Review 
 
7/19/2018- Confessions of a YA Reader- Review 
7/19/2018- Moonlight Rendezvous- Review 
 
7/20/2018- Kat’s Books- Review 
7/20/2018- Rhythmicbooktrovert- Review 
 
Week Two: 
7/23/2018- The Clever Reader- Review 
7/23/2018- Smada's Book Smack- Review 
 
7/24/2018- Lisa Loves Literature- Interview 
7/24/2018- THE BOOK NUT- Review 
 
7/25/2018- A Gingerly Review- Review 
7/25/2018- Two Chicks on Books- Excerpt 
 
7/26/2018- Daily Waffle- Interview 
7/26/2018- Don't Judge, Read- Interview 
 
7/27/2018- Two Points of Interest- Spotlight 
7/27/2018- Book-Keeping- Review