October 10, 2014

Book Blitz + Giveaway: Day Zero by Summer Lane

Day Zero (The Zero Trilogy #1)
Author: Summer Lane
Genre: YA Dystopia
Release Date: October 10, 2014


Elle is a survivor.

Since the collapse of modern society, she's been living in the remains of downtown Hollywood, California, foraging for food and fighting for her life.

And then everything changes.

After she is forced out of her home, she heads north. What she finds is a group of bunker survivors, unlikely comrades, and the hope of a safe haven. Together, they journey toward the dregs of civilization, facing starvation, imprisonment and death.

They are alone, but they are ready.

Day Zero begins today.

Day Zero is a novella, the first installment in The Zero Trilogy, a novella series complementing the international bestselling Collapse Series.

Writing Day Zero 

The idea for Day Zero came about at the beginning of 2014, around the time I was getting ready to release State of Rebellion, the third book in The Collapse Series. There are so many stories that can be told about supporting characters – especially when a series is ongoing like mine, and continues to add new characters to the plot.

I wrote a rough draft of Day Zero in June, and finished the first copy of the manuscript in August. It was about a three-month process, total, to get the book written. Getting the page count done only took a couple of weeks. What takes time for me, as a writer, is researching, plotting, planning, and double-checking a novel. Writing is the fun part.

As any writer knows, a final draft can be drastically different than the first draft. Oftentimes they aren’t even recognizable. With Day Zero, it was an exception. The final draft is actually very similar to the first draft. The scenes, the power, the narration is the same. Editing this novel was different than The Collapse Series, because I was starting with a character who is hardened, who already knows who she is. I get to jump right into it, which made writing the manuscript and setting the tone easier than the first two books of The Collapse Series, where Cassidy Hart is constantly changing and growing as a protagonist. Elle is very settled in who she is – the challenge of her story is staying alive, and doing so in a city that’s turned into an archaic battleground.
Summer Lane is the author of the international bestselling Collapse Series, which includes State of Emergency, State of Chaos, State of Rebellion and State of Pursuit. The fifth installment, State of Alliance, is releasing January 2015. Summer is also the author of The Zero Trilogy and an upcoming survivalist/science fantasy series coming in 2015. She owns WB Publishing, Writing Belle Magazine, and is an accomplished creative writing teacher and journalist.

Summer lives in the Central Valley of California, where she spends her time writing, teaching, and writing some more. When she is not writing, she enjoys leisurely visits with friends at coffee shops, dates to the movies, hiking in the mountains and strolling on the beach. 

Author Links:
Buy Links:

A pack of eBooks including:

  • Dead Girl Walking, by Ruth Silver 
  • Fractured Dream, by K.M. Randall 
  • Spirit Warriors: The Scarring by DEL Connor 
  • Eyes of the Enemy by Kelly Hess 
  • Jacob, King of Portalia by Casey Club 
  • Destiny Gift by Juliana Haygert 
  • Aftershock by Roberta Trahan



  1. Thank you for posting! I appreciate it! :)

    1. You're very welcome Summer! Congrats on your new release! :)

  2. Sam's Club! They've got everything!!