April 24, 2019

King of Fools Blog Tour: Review + Giveaway


King of Fools (The Shadow Game #2)
Author: Amanda Foody
Genre: YA Fantasy
Release Date: April 30, 2019
Publisher: Inkyard Press
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg


Indulge your vices in the City of Sin, where a sinister street war is brewing and fame is the deadliest killer of them all...

On the quest to find her missing mother, prim and proper Enne Salta became reluctant allies with Levi Glaisyer, the city’s most famous con man. Saving his life in the Shadow Game forced Enne to assume the identity of Seance, a mysterious underworld figure. Now, with the Chancellor of the Republic dead and bounties on both their heads, she and Levi must play a dangerous game of crime and politics…with the very fate of New Reynes at stake.

Thirsting for his freedom and the chance to build an empire, Levi enters an unlikely partnership with Vianca Augustine’s estranged son. Meanwhile, Enne remains trapped by the mafia donna’s binding oath, playing the roles of both darling lady and cunning street lord, unsure which side of herself reflects the truth.

As Enne and Levi walk a path of unimaginable wealth and opportunity, new relationships and deadly secrets could quickly lead them into ruin. And when unforeseen players enter the game, they must each make an impossible choice: To sacrifice everything they’ve earned in order to survive...

Or die as legends.
King of Fools is the fantastic second book in the Shadow Game series and fans of the first book won't be disappointed. The author does a spectacular job with the world building in the novel. I immediately felt like I was back inside the "City of Sin" and was experiencing everything right along with our main characters. The author uses detailed descriptions and lots of vivid imagery to bring this shady world to life right before our eyes. I could lose myself inside this world and never come back out because I think there's so much more to be explored and discovered. 

Our main characters have all changed in different ways since the first book's events. What I really enjoyed was the alternating chapters told from three perspectives - Levi, Enne, and Jaq. I loved getting to know each of them on a more personal level and watching them change in order to survive this crazy world. The only issue I personally had was that the author used the third person point of view to tell the story. I completely understand why she chose to do this - it could get confusing with more than one or two main characters and writing in the first person would only make things worse. I personally prefer the first person POV in almost every situation and that holds with this as well. Even though I get why the author used this writing style, I still feel we could've been more connected to the main characters if the first person POV was used. I did enjoy the alternating chapters and viewpoints because it showed different perspectives of the story and allowed us to identify with each character separately.

The plot was amazing, just as I had hoped. The first book was wonderful and I was afraid that this one might fall short, but it couldn't have been further from the truth. You could feel the tension each character felt during the story and how the adrenaline was almost always pumping with the action. It was definitely a solid second book in the series and I can't wait for the next book to release. I highly recommend this book and series to fans of YA, fantasy, and even dystopia, as well as fans of the first book.
Amanda Foody has always considered imagination to be our best attempt at magic. After spending her childhood longing to attend Hogwarts, she now loves to write about immersive settings and characters grappling with insurmountable destinies. She holds a Masters in Accountancy from Villanova University, and a Bachelors of Arts in English Literature from the College of William and Mary. Currently, she lives in Philadelphia, PA, surrounded by her many siblings and many books.

Her books include DAUGHTER OF THE BURNING CITY and ACE OF SHADES. The next installment of THE SHADOW GAME TRILOGY, KING OF FOOLS, releases on April 30, 2019.

Win a copy of KING OF FOOLS by Amanda Foody (US Only)
Starts: April 22, 2019
Ends: May 6, 2019

   a Rafflecopter giveaway


No comments:

Post a Comment