June 19, 2020

Sisters of Sword and Song Blog Tour: Review + Giveaway

http://fantasticflyingbookclub.blogspot.com/2020/04/tour-schedule-sisters-of-sword-and-song.html


Sisters of Sword and Song
Author: Rebecca Ross 
Genre: YA Fantasy
Release Date: June 23, 2020 
Publisher: HarperTeen
 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg

Synopsis:

From the author of The Queen’s Rising comes a thrilling YA stand-alone fantasy about the unbreakable bond between sisters. Perfect for fans of Ember in the Ashes, Sky in the Deep, and Court of Fives.

After eight long years, Evadne will finally be reunited with her older sister, Halcyon, who has been proudly serving in the queen’s army. But when Halcyon appears earlier than expected, Eva knows something has gone terribly wrong. Halcyon is on the run, hunted by her commander and charged with murder.

Though Halcyon’s life is spared during her trial, the punishment is heavy. And when Eva volunteers to serve part of Halcyon’s sentence, she’s determined to find out exactly what happened. But as Eva begins her sentence, she quickly learns that there are fates much worse than death.
Sisters of Sword and Song is an amazing new young adult fantasy that fans of the genre are sure to adore. I knew I had to read this book as soon as I saw the description. I have to admit I had high hopes going in and I'm so glad to say that I was not disappointed in the least. This was one of my favorite YA fantasies so far this year. Honestly, there wasn't much that I didn't love about it. 

I loved the main story of the sisters - Eva and Halcyon. They haven't seen each other in years and yet their bond is solid and stronger than just about anything. Lately it seems like the genre has had sisters pitted against each other so it was a breath of fresh air for me. I loved getting to know both of the girls during the story. They were both easy to connect with right from the beginning for me. I thought they were very realistic and I enjoyed seeing all parts of them - the good and the bad - come out during the story. There are some great twists that I didn't see coming which I loved and I even enjoyed the romantic aspect even though I normally don't. The world building was fantastic and very well done. It was like ancient Greece and their mythology had come alive inside the pages in a way. I've always loved myths and folklore so that part of the story made it even more awesome in my opinion.

The one thing I had a small issue with was the writing style. This is a completely personal problem that I have. If you read my reviews, you know that I almost always prefer the first person POV because of the deep personal connection the reader gets to have with the narrator. Sadly the author chose to write this book in the third person so I didn't get that connection that I wanted. I did really love that the book is told from two different perspectives - Eva and Halcyon each tell their parts of the story which was great. Honestly, if this had been written in the first person, it would've been a five star without a doubt. Again - these are just my own person opinions and not every reader will feel the same as me. I very highly recommend this book to fans of YA fantasy, mythology and folklore, romance, and strong sibling connections.
 
Rebecca Ross grew up in Georgia, where she continues to reside with her husband, lively dog and endless piles of books. She received her bachelor's degree in English from UGA. In the past she has worked at a Colorado dude ranch, as a school librarian, and as a live-time captionist for a college.
Win a copy of SISTERS OF SWORD AND SONG by Rebecca Ross + 4 myth cards (The Fall of Kirkos, Ari’s Shawl of Stars, The Entrapment of Pyrrhus, and Acantha’s Crown) [US Only]
Starts: June 17, 2020
Ends: July 1, 2020










1 comment:

  1. writing a book is an intensely creative process. Your creative juices may burn out, occupational hazard. We all need time to rejuvenate every once in a while. I try to do very boring and mundane stuff like book marketing to reignite my passion for writing. I bang on bookbub's doors to take in my book and having 100+ reviews helps, so use honestbookreview dot com

    ReplyDelete